Social Connections

Professional Reader

Contact
This form does not yet contain any fields.
    eMail Digest of posts

    Subscribe to our mailing list

    * indicates required
    Email Format

    Powered by MailChimp

    Entries in Ryan Ferrier (4)

    Wednesday
    Mar082017

    Ryan Ferrier Talks All Things ‘D4VE’ at FORCES OF GEEK

     

    In December, we previewed D4VEocracy #1 from Ryan Ferrier and Valentin Roman.

    In D4VE’s first 100 days, we decided to knock on Ryan’s door to figure out what exactly is going on in the post-human robot society without a real president. We had to go all the way to Canada to get the answers and the election results we deserve.

    *  *  *  *  *

    FOG!: Pretty crazy election cycle, amiright? What can D4VE bring to the Presidency that, let’s just say, the current US President does not have?

    Ryan Ferrier: Crazy to say the least. I am Canadian, so I maybe shouldn’t comment. Okay, fine, y’all are fucked. I mean, you’ll fight and resist and it’ll be okay, but it’s gnarly and I’m sorry. What does D4VE have that the current one doesn’t? Easy, its empathy. Makes you wonder who the real robot is.

    Over the last two volumes D4VE’s shown just how emotionally connected he is to his family, his planet, and his role in society. His intent to lead the last living population seems pretty fitting.

    [READ MORE AT FORCES OF GEEK]

    Hungry? Trycaviar.com - Order Now!

     

    Wednesday
    Dec142016

    ‘D4VEocracy #1’ (advance review) at FORCES OF GEEK

     

    Written by Ryan Ferrier 
    Art/Cover by Valentin Ramon 
    Published by IDW Publishing
    In Stores January 25, 2017

    The third arc of IDW’s D4VE starts in January, picking up when vacuum robot Roombo is assassinated and the world is left without a leader.

    That’s where our hero D4VE steps in, hoping to fill in the roll as Earth’s (34RTH’s) savior once again.

    From the highest of highs to the lowest of lows, D4VE has seen it all, from aliens to time travel to a big black hole threatening everyone’s existence.

    In post-vacuum America, can D4VE be the one that makes everything great again?

    Time will certainly tell.

    The last volume, D4VE2, exalted D4VE to the Secretary of D-Fense. In his off-time, he’s struggling to maintain with his robot ex-wife S4LLY and raise his son, the mouthy and sexually fluid 5COTTY on the weekends. What we have here is Just your typical robot broken home. Why, you may ask, are robots ruling everything? They’ve taken over and beaten the meat puppet humans in an uprising (but not without learning human’s baser instincts and dank meme slang.

    [READ MORE AT FORCES OF GEEK]

    Saturday
    Jun132015

    Triple Shot: CONSTANTINE: THE HELLBLAZER #1, CLARENCE #1 & NEGATIVE SPACE #1 AT FORCES OF GEEK 

    Triple Shot: CONSTANTINE: THE HELLBLAZER #1, CLARENCE #1 & NEGATIVE SPACE #1


     

    Three new number ones this week for our Triple Shot!

    Ming Doyle teams up with James Tynion IV for the DCYou take on Constantine: The Hellblazer, Liz Prince (Tomboy) and artist Evan Palmer (Munchkin) step into the world of Cartoon Network’s newest creation, Clarence and we preview next month’s Negative Space #1 from Ryan K Lindsay.



    CONSTANTINE: THE HELLBLAZER #1
    WRITER: Ming Doyle, James Tynion IV
    ART:  Riley Rossmo
    Publication Date: June 10, 2015
    Price: $2.99
    Publisher: DC Comics
    UPC: 76194133011200111
    Buy it HERE

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    New creative team Ming Doyle (Mara, The Kitchen)
    and James Tynion IV (Talon, Batman Eternal) relaunch Constantine for the #DCYou.

    The much beleaguered title and main character has to be an
    intimidating one — Constantine has seen many forms, from
    a Vertigo comic to a movie starring Keanu Reaves (what?)
    and riding the recent wave of comic book television with 2014’s Constantine (RIP).

    Getting a handle on the character is no easy task —
    Vertigo writers in the past include Garth Ennis, Warren Ellis,
    Peter Milligan, Andy Diggle and many more.

    Constantine in the DCU is a younger character and Doyle and Tynion
    are allowed to play him that way, hopefully to generate a new
    audience for Constantine as well as bridge the gap with older readers.

    This being a DC Comic and not Vertigo hurts the book in my opinion.

    John Constantine should be able to swear and be raunchy.

    Issue #1 isn’t a bad go at the old guy, though.
    Our demon whisperer shows up naked in a clothing shop covered in blood
    and brains. Later in the story, he is drafted by Blythe for a quick shag
    and his first ‘mission’ against some demons.

    Riley Rossmo has great stylistic choices for his art, including a
    landscape splash page cutaway view of the club and by the end of the book gets to draw some cool looking demons.

    I’m interested to see where this goes, issue #1 had enough bite to
    want me to pick up the next issue. This book doesn’t seem to be
    pandering to any fans of any Hellblazer incarnations — that could be a blessing or a curse once the story develops more.


     

    [READ MORE AT FORCES OF GEEK]

    Get Batman comics, graphic novels, toys & more at TFAW.com!

    Timey-Wimey Tees at TeeFury.com

    Nintendo Retro t-shirts

    Get $1 off your purchase of 3 or more tickets to Jurassic World with promo code: TREX. Offer valid 6/2 - 6/14 11:59 PM PST or While Supplies Last. Terms Apply.

    Wednesday
    May292013

    TRIPLE SHOT DIGITAL: Comixology Submit Presents THE RED TEN #1, TIGER LAWYER #1 and MULTIPLAYER #1 at FORCES of GEEK!


    This week at our ongoing coverage of creator-owned digital comics reviews at Comixology Submit we tackle the superhero murder mystery The Red Ten, a feline attorney, Tiger Lawyer from FOG! alum Ryan Ferrier and aLeague of Extrordinary Gentlemen for video gamers!


    The leader in the digital comics space opened up the platform to indie creators back in March.

    Writers and artists now have the chance to publish comics or graphic novels on the browser, tablet or phone using the Guided View technology. Comixology curates the submissions and soon the comic is put into panel by panel production for the viewer.

    The comics appear right on the digital store alongside all of the major publisher’s books.

    The Red Ten #1 (of 10)(Digital Deluxe Editon)
    Writer: Tyler James
    Artist:  Cesar Feliciano
    Price: $0.99
    Page Count: 48 Pages
    Imprint: ComixTribe
    Digital Release Date: 04/24/2013
    Age Rating: 15+ Only

    Buy it HERE

    The Red Ten is, unapologetically, a send off to the classic Agatha Christie novel “And Then There Were None”.

    The cool twist is that this is also the author’s chance to use a creator owned property to kill the Justice League or the Avengers one by one.

    Drawing some influence from Meltzer’s Identity Crisis as well, James and Feliciano have created a familiar world of the superhero team and injected a compelling mystery with top notch art.

    Supporting this series for 1/4th the price of a mainstream comic is a steal. Oxymoron, our Joker/Luthor villian is scary, but is he picking off these heroes?



    Tiger Lawyer #1
    Written By: Ryan Ferrier
    Art By: Mat McCray / Vic Malhotra
    Price: $0.99
    Page Count: 31 Pages
    Digital Release Date: 12/21/2013
    Age Rating: 15+ Only
    Buy it HERE

    A sucker for an animal in the courtroom and Harvey Birdman, I tried out Tiger Lawyer for a parade around the three ring circus of the courtroom.

    The first story seemed like a scene from Night Court, as a weary judge concedes to Mr. Tiger Lawyer’s defense strategy.  The second story was quite good, a more noirBatman: Year One short story told in black and white.

    Not sure the strategy on presenting a cartoony version of the main cat vs. a dark detective story, but both worked on different levels.

    This book is worth checking out, for fans of Frosted Flakes and Perry Mason.


    Multiplayer #1
    Story & Art: Tomi Hanzek
     Price: $0.99
    Page Count: 28 Pages
    Digital Release Date: 05/07/2013
    Age Rating: 13+ Only
    Buy it HERE

    Multiplayer is a fun release combining the mythos of familiar but dissimilar video game heroes into a superhero team across time to the present day to save the world.Legends of Zelda, Tomb Raider, and Street Fighter fans will recognize some faces, as the strongest warriors are assembled to take on Necrolord.

    Fun stuff!

    My lack of familiarity with all of the video game references did not distract nor turn me off on this book. I enjoy the concept.
    [READ MORE at FORCES OF GEEK]